Starfish in Southtown

In celebration of their new website I wanted to blog about our excellent experience we had on our very special occasion. You can now checkout Starfish to get up close and personal with what they have to offer. It was our 9th anniversary and Starfish definitely treated us like stars for the night! The culinary talent here amplifies through their exquisite seafood dishes and delectable desserts. I enjoyed the Scallops with Forbidden Rice, Gremolata and Verjus. I loved the story that our waiter told us about the forbidden rice on my plate. Did you know that legend tells us that this ancient grain was once eaten exclusively by the Emperors of China. Our most popular rice is fabled to enrich health and ensure longevity. This medium-size heirloom rice is treasured for its delicious roasted nutty taste, soft texture and beautiful deep purple color. I truly felt my palate being taken to heaven, it was that good! My husband loved his Red Snapper with Escargot Sofrito, Marbled Potatoes and Wild Ramps. It was a night to remember with the romantic jellyfish lighting and the special complimentary anniversary champagne with raspberries.

It is a quaint place in my favorite district in San Antonio, Southtown. I saw the owner of Azuca at the bar and asked the waiter if it was his place and he told me that it was actually his son that runs the restaurant. They are wonderful people and I am so glad to hear that it is family owned.

We topped off our night with “I Do”… Cookies. Mexican Wedding Cookies with Espresso Mousse and Orchata. So fitting for the occasion to celebrate our anniversary. I loved it here and recommend you try it.

Leave a Reply

