A Photo Taking Day in SA

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The day was sunny and the weather was perfect for a stroll in Downtown SA.  As I get older I have come to appreciate the details in life and my photography has helped me see through a different point of view.  It is amazing the beauty and history San Antonio has to offer and each time I visit Downtown I come to discover new things.  It is the iconic places and historical landmarks that I remember but never really stop and admire.  There was no plan or agenda just a day out with my family and my camera.

My favorite picture is of the two men under the red shades in front of the San Fernando Cathedral.  The new renovations to the San Fernando Cathedral in recent years have made it a beautiful place for locals to gather and enjoy each others company.  I enjoyed watching these men in their Tom Landry hats, Stacy Adams shoes and Guayaberas, they reminded me of my grandfather.  These men were the perfect poster models for Penner’s, the famous men’s store I remember passing by every time I came through downtown .  Some were talking amongst each other,enjoying a Coca-Cola and others were playing a game of dominos.

As we strolled along we wanted to try a new place for lunch.  Jerry’s Chicago Style Hot Dogs hit the spot.  Jerry is from Chicago and has won the Critics Choice awards for several years, not to mention all of the articles and recognition that are posted on the walls.  It was great food and great service.  If you need a pick me while strolling downtown stop by SIP coffee house. Try the Freddo, a frozen mocha espresso delight along with their famous delicious scones. A simple and gorgeous day.  A perfect day for picture taking and capturing the heart and soul of our downtown San Antonio. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

